In Indigenous Studies at the undergraduate level, you will have the opportunity to examine the histories, experiences, cultural expression and concerns of Aboriginal people in Canada as well as internationally.

For Indigenous Studies requirements students must take core courses within the Multicultural and Indigenous Studies program as well as 12 credits of required courses in the Indigenous Studies stream. They then choose the remainder of their courses within the Indigenous Studies stream. Please examine the course listings and course descriptions pages to see what courses are available in Indigenous Studies.

You can also view information on this site about the faculty who teach in Indigenous Studies and read testimonials from students pursuing Indigenous Studies. Finally, for an understanding of how Indigenous Studies fits within the Multicultural and Indigenous Studies program, please examine the Multicultural and Indigenous Studies.

Faculty of Education

The Faculty of Education offers two programs in Indigenous Education. Their concurrent education program offers an Indigenous Teacher Education Program which prepares teacher candidates to teach at all certification levels (Primary/Junior, Junior/Intermediate and Intermediate/Senior). Please check this site for information about how to apply, as well as a brochure detailing further information on this program.

At the Graduate Level a brand new Masters Cohort in Urban Aboriginal Education is being offered by the Faculty of Education in collaboration with the Toronto District School Board Aboriginal Education Centre. This program focuses on the integration of Aboriginal subject material across the curriculum for all students. It is open to all educators interested in teaching and learning Aboriginal content and perspectives.

For specific information on the Masters Cohort in Urban Aboriginal Education contact:

Dr. Susan D. Dion
Faculty of Graduate Studies
283 York Lanes

Aboriginal Programming at Osgoode

Since 1993, Osgoode Hall has been offering a unique intensive program in Aboriginal Lands, Resources and Governments.

Osgoode has recently developed a Summer Program for Aboriginal Youth, through a collaboration between Osgoode and the University of Toronto Faculty of Law. This program enables Aboriginal youth from Grades 9 through 12 to learn about the study of law and how the law affects Aboriginal people.